East Alabama

The Eastern Region of Alabama has a population of almost 800,000[1. MapInfo TargetPro, Total Population, 2011] and is home to Montgomery, the state capital. More than 16% of the state’s population lives in this 14-county area. In addition, to the state capital, other cities in the area include Prattville, Selma, Alexander City and Tuskegee. To the east of Montgomery is Auburn-Opelika, home to Auburn University.

Alabama Media Group’s AL.com is an important information source in East Alabama. In June 2012, Montgomery County and Lee County, home to Auburn University, accounted for more than 1.2 million page views on AL.com[2. Omniture, June 2012].